
Port of Ness barometer
A piece of maritime history returns to Port of Ness over a century after original barometer was installed.
In July 2025, a piece of maritime and meteorological history was returned to the Port of Ness as a working barometer, an exact replica of the original FitzRoy barometer, was installed in its historic location, more than a century after the first was put in place.
The restoration was initiated by Angus Murray (Aonghas a' Ghaisean), whose family come from Port of Ness, who discovered a functioning barometer, an exact replica for the original, for sale online, after the original barometer had been taken out by Comunn Eachdraidh Nis to see whether repairs would be possible. Recognising its significance to Port of Ness, Angus approached Urras Oighreachd Ghabhsainn and the Trust funded the purchase and installation of the new barometer.
Janet Macleod, Cultural Engagement Officer, Urras Oighreachd Ghabhsainn commented: “This barometer isn’t just a scientific instrument, it’s a cultural landmark. It connects us to the maritime heritage of our community and the pioneering work of Admiral Robert FitzRoy. We’re thrilled to see a working barometer back in place for the local community and visitors to enjoy.”
Admiral Robert FitzRoy, a pioneering meteorologist and naval officer, who invented this barometer, founded the Meteorological Office in 1854 and devoted his efforts to improving weather predictions for the benefit of mariners. FitzRoy’s barometers were placed in fishing ports across Britain to provide local mariners with accurate weather forecasts, an innovation that saved countless lives.
The original Port of Ness barometer, which was installed in 1863, remained under the care of the Met Office until 2024, when it was officially gifted to Comunn Eachdraidh Nis.
Janet Macleod, added: “We’re very grateful to Angus for bringing this opportunity to us and for his dedication throughout the project. Special thanks also go to Donnie Campbell, whose expertise was invaluable during the sensitive installation process and to Derick Mackay for dressing the cabinet housing the barometer. Thanks also to local residents for their cooperation during the installation.”
The barometer can now be viewed in its original location in Port of Ness. Those interested in learning more about its fascinating past can explore archival material at Comunn Eachdraidh Nis, where the original instrument will also be displayed.
Project Gallery
